And she’s back in the room …

It’s been a while since I last blogged. Two and a half years in fact and quite a lot has happened since then. Our first son was born, we shipped out of London and headed for a quieter, slower life in Yorkshire, I went back to work (briefly) and then we had our second son in July this year.

Although I fully intended to blog regularly when I was pregnant with Boy No.1, I had no idea how time consuming one small baby really could be (who knew, eh?!)
Now with double trouble on my hands, I have another reason to get back into writing on here: money, money, money.
About two months before Boy No.2 came along, The Husband was made redundant. Yup. Great timing, huh?

So, now on maternity leave with a self-employed husband whose wages blow as hot and cold as a typical British summer, keeping both eyes on the budget is more important than ever.
It’s fair to say I’m obsessed with money these days. Even more so than usual. I check both my own account and the joint account ALL. THE. TIME. I know exactly what’s going in and what’s coming out and when, and the first question on my mind when considering every event, activity or purchase, is “How much is it going to cost?”

It’s not all doom and gloom though, I’ve surprised myself with how you really can stretch a small amount of money, how you can still enjoy going out and doing family things without forking out a fortune and how making a few little changes can reap rewards.  It’s a challenge and I won’t lie, I fantasise about winning the lottery far more than is healthy. But now, instead of getting a buzz from splashing out on retail therapy, I get a thrill from having a family day out on just a few pounds or flogging some old baby items for my “bonus” money (that’s cash in hand that I wasn’t banking on and so I’m justified in frittering it away on a latte or taking the boys to a soft play place).
It’s not particularly glamorous, but I’m pretty sure I’m not the only mum counting out her loose change at the checkout.
So, as well as blogging and Tweeting about various bargains, sales and ways to cut costs, I’ll also be writing about my own personal challenges, like my self-imposed spending ban and why my new favourite word is FREE!

Leave a Reply

